search archive
browse collections Up

Special Collections

Object Type: Folder
In root of archive


Candidate and voting guides for Law Society bencher elections.

The Law Society of Ontario has been calling lawyers to the bar since 1797. It was not until 1936, however, that families and friends of candidates were welcome to attend the call ceremony. The number of ceremonies per year and the location of ceremonies has expanded over time, and the profession has witnessed a growing diversity amongst the candidates, but the purpose of the ceremony remains constant - to call and welcome new lawyers to the bar of Ontario. The Law Society grants the degree of Barrister-at-Law when candidates are called to the bar. In 1957, an amendment to the Law Society Act gave the Law Society of Upper Canada the power to grant LL.B. degrees for the law school's academic course. Students who commenced the study of law at Osgoode Hall Law School in 1957 were the first to receive the LL.B. degree when graduating in 1960. The Law Society of Upper Canada continued to grant LL.B. degrees until 1970, two years after Osgoode Hall Law School moved to York University. The degree granting rights the Law Society of Upper Canada received in 1957 gave it the power to award honourary degrees. Since 1960, the Law Society has recognized distinguished members of the profession and the public by awarding Doctor of Laws degrees, honoris causa (LL.D.). The granting of honourary degrees first took place at the Osgoode Hall Law School academic convocations and later at the call to the bar ceremonies.

Collection consists of postcards maintained as part of the Archives Department collection.

The Law Society of Ontario collects self-identification data through the Lawyer Annual Report Filing and the Paralegal Annual Report Filing. The snapshot fact sheets are based on data collected from the Annual Report and reveals the changes in the profession over time and in comparison to the Ontario population.

Powered by Preservica
Copyright © Law Society of Ontario (unless otherwise indicated). All rights reserved.